Yachtsman of the Year 2018


The WYC board of directors voted Peter Larabee as the 2018 “Yachtsman of the Year”

The “Yachtsman of the Year” award is an annual honor presented to a Waterford Yacht Club non-board member based upon volunteering and participation in Waterford Yacht club events as well as service at Waterford Harbor Marina.

On board the sailboat Dram Bouy, Peter (and wife Betsey) is a strong and consistent racer who won the year long WYC Peanut Regatta, participated in the GBCA races, and LYC Harvest Moon Regatta.  This year Peter expanded his racing participation by helping organize WYC’s highly successful 2018 Charity Regatta benefiting Sailing Angels.

If you see Peter around the marina please congratulate him for his service.  His efforts are a big part of WYC 2018 achievements.

Past “Yachtsman of the Year”

2017       Elfie Boersma

2016       Rafael Brom

2015       Dennis Stetzel

2014       Ellen Von London

2013       Rick Stewart

2012       Dan Fuller

2011       Julie Gibb

2010       Joe Stanfield

2009       Pat Andrus

2008       Larry Wiper

2007       Robert Donley

2006       Ricardo Gomez

2005       Russel Orr

2004       John Dewitt

2003       Rus Records

2002       Vernon Downing